Simply Streep is your premiere source on Meryl Streep's work on film, television and in the theatre - a career that has won her three Academy Awards and the praise to be one of the world's greatest working actresses. Created in 1999, we have built an extensive collection to discover Miss Streep's work through an archive of press articles, photos and video clips. Enjoy your stay.
Explore the Meryl Streep archives
Discover Meryl's work by year, medium or start a search

The Velveteen Rabbit

1984 | Rabbit Ears Entertainment | 32 minutes
| Literature: Margery Williams | Music: George Winston
Meryl Streep reads Margery Williams's gentle story of a stuffed bunny who becomes real through the love of a child in this 25-minute video version of the classic 1922 tale. A Christmas gift that is ignored, then beloved, and then abandoned, the rabbit with the pink sateen ears comes to love the boy who takes him everywhere and through that love finds literal rebirth. Meryl Streep doesn't disappoint as she liltingly brings the toy rabbit to life - with the help of the nursery magic fairy. Streep's reading is complemented by George Winston's music and illustrations by David Jorgenson. "The Velveteen Rabbit" received a Grammy nomination in the category of "Best Album for Children". It won a Parents' Choice Award for Favorite Recording and a Silver Plaque by the Chicago International Film Festival.
01   The Velveteen Rabbit
02   Christmas
03   The Toys
04   The Skin Horse
05   Nana
06   Lullaby
07   Spring
08   Summer
09   Summer Evening – The Rabbit Dance
10   Alone
11   Shagginess Doesn’t Matter
12   Anxious Moments
13   Loneliness – The Fairy
14   Flying
15   Returning
16   The Velveteen Rabbit
17   The Velveteen Rabbit (Music Alone)
18   Christmas (Music Alone)
19   The Toys (Music Alone)
20   The Skin Horse (Music Alone)
21   This Magic Called Real (Music Alone)
22   Lullaby (Sandman) (Music Alone)
23   Spring (The Velveteen Rabbit) (Music Alone)
24   Summer (Music Alone)
25   Summer Evening (Music Alone)
26   The Rabbit Dance (Music Alone)
27   Alone (Music Alone)
28   Shabbiness Doesn’t Matter (Music Alone)
29   Anxious Moments Part 1 (Music Alone)
30   Loneliness (Music Alone)
31   Anxious Moments Part 2 – The Fairy (Music Alone)
32   Flying (Music Alone)
33   Returning – The Velveteen Rabbit (Music Alone)

34   Night Thougths (Bonus Track)

The Velveteen Rabbit was released both as an audio book and in an animated version on video cassette.

The Velveteen Rabbit is being listed under the following tags: