Created in 1999, Simply Streep is your premiere online resource on Meryl Streep's extensive work on film, television and the theatre - a career that is unmatched in modern film and that has won her numerous accolades, including three Academy Awards, and the praise to be one of the world's greatest working actresses. At Simply Streep, we have built an extensive collection to discover Miss Streep's work through an archive of press articles, pictures and videos, alongside information on the charities and causes she supports. There is much to discover, so enjoy your stay.
Explore the Meryl Streep archives
Browse topics by year, genre or try out a search

Ancient Tower

May 14, 1996 | Warner Bros. | 51 minutes
"Ancient Tower" captures the soaring, searching imagery of one of the world’s quintessential modern poets blended beautifully with intricate, deeply spiritual chants resulting in a shining performance certain to define "sacred" music. Robert Lepley's choral compositions were released in 1996 by Earthbeat Records, distributed by Warner Brothers Records, and contains his piano compositions and choral settings of six poems by Rainer Maria Rilke. These poems are narrated by actress Meryl Streep, and are performed by acclaimed jazz ensemble "New York Voices". The music is a synthesis of very old and very new melodic lines and vocal compositions. In 2008, Meryl Streep and Robert Lepley collaborated once again on "Visions Within".
Cast: Robert Benford Lepley, New York Voices, Amy London, Meryl Streep
01   Poem
02   You Darkness, That I Come From
03   Poem
04   Already The Ripening Barberries Are Red
05   Poem
06   To Music
07   Poem
08   My Life Is Not This Steeply Sloping Hour
09   Poem
10   I Find You In All These Things Of The Of The World
11   Poem

12   I Live My Life In Growing Orbits

Ancient Tower is being listed under the following tags: